• Women’s World Cup Qualifying coming to D.C.

    Rapinoe (left), Alex Morgan and the U.
    S. Women's National Team will play in
    C. in October. (AP Photo/Doug Benz)

    WASHINGTON -- The 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship, which serves as a qualifier for the 2015 Women’s World Cup, is coming to Washington D.C.

    Eight teams from the region, including the U.S. Women’s National Team, will be split into two groups of four and play doubleheaders in Kansas City, Chicago and Washington. The final set of doubleheaders will take place October 20-21 at RFK Stadium.

    The top two finishers in each group will advance to the semifinals in Philadelphia, with the two finalists and winner of the third-place game securing spots in the World Cup. Canada will host the Cup, so they have already qualified automatically.

    The CONCACAF Women’s Championship will feature the U.S., Mexico, Costa Rica and Guatemala, as well as the four semifinalists from the CFU Women’s Caribbean Cup.

    Ticket information will be made available in the near future.
View the full stream
Powered by ScribbleLive Content Marketing Software Platform